Welcome to
COLT 2018

Stockholm, Sweden

July 6--9, 2018

Important dates

Submission Deadline

Feb. 16, 11pm EST

Author Feedback

Apr. 9-15

Authors Notification

May 2

Open Problems Deadline

May 1

Early Registration ends

May 30


July 6-9

keynote speakers

Stephane Mallat

Stephane Mallat

/ Ecole Polytechnique /
Stephane Mallat’s research interests include learning, signal processing, and harmonic analysis. He is a member of the French Academy of sciences, an IEEE Fellow and an EUSIPCO Fellow. In 1997, he received the Outstanding Achievement Award from the SPIE Society and was a plenary lecturer at the International Congress of Mathematicians in 1998.
Susan Murphy

Susan Murphy

/ Harvard /
Susan Murphy’s research focuses on improving sequential, individualized, decision making in health, in particular on clinical trial design and data analysis to inform the development of adaptive interventions (e.g. treatment policies). She is a member of US National Academy of Sciences, a former editor of the Annals of Statistics and a 2013 MacArthur Fellow.
Johan Hastad
Johan Håstad is a theoretical computer scientist best known for his work on complexity theory. He has received two Gödel prizes, one in 1994 for his work on circuit lower bounds and one in 2011 for his work on hardness of approximation. He is a fellow of the American Mathematical Society and was a pleany spearker at the International Congress of Mathematicians in 1998.

Program chairs:

Sebastien Bubeck (Microsoft Research)
Philippe Rigollet (MIT)

Publications chair:

Vianney Perchet (ENS Paris-Saclay)

Open problems chair:

Wouter Koolen (CWI, Amsterdam)

Sponsorship chairs:

Satyen Kale (Google) and Robert Schapire (Microsoft Research)

Local Arrangements chair:

Alexandre Proutiere (KTH)

Program committee:

Jacob Abernethy (Georgia Tech)
Shivani Agarwal (University of Pennsylvania)
Shipra Agrawal (Columbia University)
Alexandr Andoni (Columbia University)
Pranjal Awasthi (Rutgers University)
Francis Bach (INRIA)
Nina Balcan (Carnegie Mellon University)
Afonso Bandeira (New-York University)
Mihail Belkin (Ohio State University)
Shai Ben-David (University of Waterloo)
Quentin Berthet (University of Cambridge)
Alina Beygelzimer (Yahoo! Research)
Avrim Blum (TTI Chicago)
Guy Bresler (MIT)
Olivier Cappé (Université Paris-Saclay)
Constantine Caramanis (UT Austin)
Alexandra Carpentier (OvGU Magdeburg)
Nicolo Cesa-Bianchi (University of Milan)
Arnak Dalalyan (ENSAE)
Amit Daniely (Hebrew University)
Ronen Eldan (Weizman Institute)
Tim van Erven (Leiden University)
Vitaly Feldman (Google)
Aurelien Garivier (University Paul-Sabatier)
Rong Ge (Duke University)
Claudio Gentile (Universita degli Studi dell’Insubria)
Steve Hanneke
Elad Hazan (Princeton University)
Daniel Hsu (Columbia University)
Prateek Jain (Microsoft Research)
Satyen Kale (Google)
Varun Kanade (Oxford University)
Vladimir Koltchinskii (Georgia Tech)
Wouter Koolen (CWI, Amsterdam)
Tomer Koren (Google)
John Lafferty (Yale University)
Po-Ling Loh (UW Madison)
Gabor Lugosi (ICREA and Pompeu Fabra University)
Shie Mannor (Technion)
Yishay Mansour (Tel Aviv University and Google)
Ankur Moitra (MIT)
Robert Nowak (UW Madison)
Vianney Perchet (ENS Paris-Saclay and Criteo)
Alexandre Proutiere (KTH)
Luis Rademacher (UC Davis)
Maxim Raginsky (University of Illinois)
Sasha Rakhlin (University of Pennsylvania)
Lorenzo Rosasco (MIT and Universita' di Genova)
Robert Schapire (Microsoft Research)
Ohad Shamir (Weizman Institute)
Suvrit Sra (MIT)
Nathan Srebro (TTI Chicago)
Karthik Sridharan (Cornell University)
David Steurer (ETH Zurich)
Csaba Szepesvari (University of Alberta)
Matus Telgarsky (University of Illinois)
Ambuj Tewari (University of Michigan)
Alexandre Tsybakov (ENSAE-CREST)
Ruth Urner (Max Planck Institute)
Santosh Vempala (Georgia Tech)
Roman Vershynin (UC Irvine)
Manfred Warmuth (UC Santa Cruz)
Yihong Wu (Yale University)


Become a Sponsor


Western Digital

American Express

Google AI






D.E. Shaw

IBM Research

Amazon Web Services

Instructions for presenters

Poster size

< 90cm (width) x 190 cm (height)

Conference computer

PDF, Powerpoint, Keynote

Laptop connections


Talk duration

9 mins + 1 min for questions/switch


All the COLT locations in one map

Conference venue

he conference venue is KTH Royal Institute of Technology, located in the beautiful city of Stockholm, capital of the Sweeden. The conference talks will take place in Lecture room Q1 of the Malvinas väg 4 (previously called Osquldas väg 10). The poster sessions will be in the same building, room Q31 and Q34.

Welcome reception

The welcome reception is on Thursday, July 5 from 18:00 to 20:00. It will take place in the ”Ljusgården” at Lindstedtsvägen 3 in the E building, floor 3.


Lunches will be served in the Ljusgården. They are complementary with a COLT registration. Lunch on Monday July 9 (last day) will be served outside the room Q1.

WiML Lunch

The WiML lunch is on Monday, July 9 from 12:00 to 14:30; it will take place at Brinellvägen 8 (a member of COLT staff will walk the group to the room). Sponsored by Women in Machine Learning


The banquet will take place at artipelag on Sunday, July 8th. The busses will be leaving at 7:30 PM at the beginning of Malvinasväg (or equivalently Osquldasväg) on Drottning Kristinas väg. We will be back at KTH around 11:00 PM.

Travel tips

Click here for more informations on how to get to the conference